Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty.
Browse Categories


This award is granted to peonies that have outstanding landscape and growth characteristics. It was designed to provide information on particular peony varieties that would be desirable for landscapers to use in their garden designs. Included in characteristics are the ability to stand up in inclement weather and to be disease resistant. The first round of nominations were made by APS members in 2008 and the awards presented by the respected and knowledgeable committee members. Additional varieties were deferred for future consideration. See the March 2008 American Peony Society Bulletin for specific characteristics desired for nomination.

America (Rudolph, 1976)
Angel Cheeks (Klehm, before 1975)
Bartzella (Anderson, 1986)
Buckeye Belle (Mains, 1956)
Burma Ruby (Glasscock, 1951)
Canary Brilliants (Anderson, 1999)
Charm (Franklin, 1931)
Comanche (Bigger, 1965)
Coral ’n Gold (Cousins/Klehm, 1981)
Coral Sunset (Wissing, 1965)
Cytherea (Saunders, 1953)
Do Tell (Auten, 1946)
Early Scout (Auten, 1952)
Eliza Lundy (Krekler, 1975)
Ellen Cowley (Saunders, 1940)
Etched Salmon (Cousins/Klehm R.G., 1981)
Friendship (Glasscock/Falk, 1955)
Garden Lace (Hollingsworth, 1992)
Garden Treasure (Hollingsworth, 1986)
Gay Paree (Auten, 1933)
Hillary (Anderson, 1999)
Krinkled White (Brand, 1928)
Little Red Gem (D. Reath, 1988)
Lovely Rose (Saunders, 1942)
Mackinac Grand (Reath, 1992)
Mahogany (Glasscock, 1937)
Many Happy Returns (Hollingsworth, 1986)
Merry Mayshine (Saunders/Hollingsworth/Smetana, 1994)
Minnie Shaylor (Shaylor, 1919)
Nice Gal (Krekler, 1965)
Old Faithful (Glasscock/Falk, 1964)
Pink Hawaiian Coral (Klehm, 1981)
Prairie Charm (Hollingsworth, 1992)
Roselette (Saunders, 1950)
Rozella (Reath, 1990)
Salmon Dream (Reath, 1979)
Scarlett O’Hara (Glasscock/Falk, 1956)
Sword Dance (Auten, 1933))
Topeka Garnet (Bigger, 1975)
White Cap (Winchell, 1956)


YearGold Medal Award Winner
1923Mrs. A. M. Brand (Brand, 1925)
1933A. B. Franklin (Franklin 1928)
1933Mrs J.V. Edlund (Edlund 1929)
1934Harry F. Little (Nicholls, 1933)
1941Nick Shaylor (Allison, 1931)
1943Elsa Sass (Sass 1930)
1946Golden Glow (Glasscock 1935)
1946Hansina Brand (Brand 1925)
1948Mrs. Franklin D Roosevelt (Franklin 1932)
1949Doris Cooper (Cooper 1946)
1956Miss America (Mann-van Steen 1936)
1956Red Charm (Glasscock 1944)
1957Kansas (Bigger 1940)
1959Moonstone (Murawska 1943)
1971Miss America( Mann-van Steen 1936)
1972Nick Shaylor (Allison 1931)
1973Age of Gold T.P. (Saunders)
1974Walter Mains (Mains, 1957)
1975Bu-Te (Wassengerg 1954)
1980Cytherea (Saunders, 1953)
1981Bowl of Cream (C.G. Klehm 1963)
1982Westerner (Bigger, 1942)
1983Chinese Dragon (Saunders)
1984Dolorodell (Lins 1942)
1985Burma Ruby (Glasscock 1851)
1986Coral Charm (Wissing 1964)
1987Norma Volz (Volz 1962)
1988Paula Fay (Fay 1968)
1989High Noon (Saunders, 1952 TP)
1990Sea Shell (Sass 1937)
1991White Cap (Winchell 1966)
1992America (Rudolph 1976)
1993Mother’s Choice (Glasscock, 1950)
1994Shintenchi (Japan - Honorary)
1994Pillow Talk (Carl Klehm, 1968)
1995Sparkling Star (Bigger, 1953)
1996Garden Treasure (Hollingsworth, 1984)
1997Old Faithful (Glasscock/Falk, 1964)
1998Myra Macrae (R. W. Tischler, 1967)
1999Ludovica (Saunders, 1941)
2000Pink Hawaiian Coral (Klehm, 1972)
2001Early Scout (Auten, 1952)
2002Etched Salmon (Cousins/Klehm, 1981)
2003Coral Sunset (Wissing, 1981)
2004Do Tell (Auten, 1946)
2005Angel Cheeks (Klehm, C.G., 1970)
2006Bartzella (Anderson, 1986)
2007Many Happy Returns (Hollingsworth, 1986)
2008Salmon Dream (David Reath, 1979)
2009Hephestos (Daphnis, 1977)
2010Buckeye Belle (Mains, 1956)
2011Amalia Olson (Olson, 1959)
2012Topeka Garnet (Bigger, 1975)
2013The Mackinac Grand (Reath, 1992)
2014Leda (Daphnis, 1977)
2015Mahogany (Glasscock, 1937)
2016Eliza Lundy (Krekler, 1976)